drucken    mit Bildern    zurück
Serpent Temptation (Reissues)
Facebook / Instagram / Linktree


High Roller Records


In 1982, when teenage brothers Moyses and Francis M. Howard moved from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, to New Orleans, Louisiana with their parents, they could not know that they would soon be taken by the nascent metal underground in the US and become forerunners themselves – but that is just what happened when they formed INCUBUS (now known as OPPROBRIUM) together with bass player/singer Scot W. Latour in 1986.

The trio released their debut "Serpent Temptation" in 1988, a pioneering milestone in several respects. With Moyses´ blastbeat drumming, Francis´ fast-paced riffing an Latour´s furious snarl, "Serpent Temptation" existed on the verge between thrash and early death metal.

This first effort got them a record deal with Nuclear Blast, who also released both its successors "Beyond the Unknown" (1990) and "Discerning Forces" (2000, by then under the name OPPROBRIUM) as well as, in 1996, a new recording of "Serpent Temptation": With Latour out of the band, Francis also took over vocal duties and re-worked the lyrics in addition of also re-recording the bass for this alternate version.

The 1988 and ´96 incarnations of "Serpent Temptation" have now been restored by mastering specialist Patrick W. Engel (Amon Amarth, Cannibal Corpse etc al.) at Temple of Disharmony studio, with vinyl cutting courtesy of SST Germany. Both incarnations of the album are available as single CD, LP and picture disc.

Furthermore, the 1988 version comes out on double vinyl, featuring the group´s sole 1987 demo for the first time ever in its entirety with six additional tracks. Lastly, there´s a CD and cassette tape box set, containing the 1988 version alongside the demo recordings and a soundboard recording, capturing the initial INCUBUS live at V.F.W. Hall in New Orleans on August 28, 1987.

Serpent Temptation / Original Version:

Scott Latour - Bass, Vocals
Francis M. Howard - Guitars
Moyses M. Howard - Drums

1. The Battle of Armageddon
2. Voices from the Grave
3. Sadistic Sinner
4. Incubus
5. Blaspheming Prophets
6. Hunger for Power
7. Serpent Temptation
8. Underground Killers

Serpent Temptation / The Alternate Version 1996:

Francis M. Howard - Guitars, Vocals
Moyses M. Howard - Drums

1. The Battle of Armageddon
2. Unseen Bereavement
3. Indulgence
4. Abductions
5. Prophets
6. Hunger for Power
7. Serpent Temptation
8. Curtains Closed

Download 300dpi printable (1,5 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (1,4 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (638 kB)