[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Mezzrow

Then Came The Killing (Reissue)


Hammerheart Records
2CD (Album & Demos) + LP (Album only) + 2LP (Demos only)


Superb Scandinavian Thrash Metal - an absolute highlight fans! Remastered and full of killer riffs! Featuring all the demos!

Hammerheart Records states: We were around when the first wave of Thrash arrived during the mid 80’s, and we can say that this is the real deal. Listening to MEZZROW’s album brings us back to the days when we walked around with dirty white Nike shoes, stretch jeans, wore Slayer and Testament T-shirts till they were in tatters and we would literally use our last money to buy a band’s album.
Our two favorite things about this album: the vocals and the riffs. Singer Staffe Karlsson (R.I.P.) has a nice aggressive edge to his voice, very different from the high-pitched, bordering-on-falsetto screams that bands like Anthrax and the like were using. We would consider these to be pure Thrash vocals, never crossing the line into death metal territory, but angry and at times gruff as befitting this style of music. While the two don’t sound anything alike, I get a vibe from Uffe Petersson on this album that makes me think of James Hetfield on “Ride the Lightning”.

You know, back when Metallica was an actual Thrash band instead of mainstream band. The guitar sound is another standout; reasonably clean and easy to decipher but without sacrificing any heaviness. “Then Came the Killing” is well-produced without being over-produced. The band even look right, opting for the accepted late 80’s Thrash “uniform” of ultra-long hair, ripped and faded jeans, leather motorcycle jacket and high top sneakers. Although the album didn’t come out until 1990, it is clear where MEZZROW’s sensibilities lie. MEZZROW represent high-quality Thrash of the old school. If you’re a fan of that kind of music then we highly recommend this. “Then Came the Killing” is an exhibit of everything reliable and satisfying in Thrash Metal.


01. Then Came the Killing
02. Ancient Terror
03. The Final Holocaust
04. Frozen Soul
05. Distant Death
06. Prevention Necessary
07. Where Death Begins
08. The Cross of Torment
09. Inner Devastation

Frozen Soul Demo
01. Frozen Soul
02. Prevention Necessary
03. Resurrection of the Beast
The Cross of Tormention Demo
04. The Cross of Tormention
05. Ancient Terror
06. Final Holocaust
07. Inner Devastation
Demo 1991
08. Silent Extenction
09. Echoes of Damnation
10. Blind Belief
11. Segregation of the Masses

Download 300dpi printable (1,4 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (3,9 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (621 kB)

Download 300dpi printable (1,5 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (1,5 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (440 kB)

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]