[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Lindy-Fay Hella



Ván Records


This autumn, LINDY-FAY HELLA will release her debut solo album, "Seafarer", via Ván Records! Until now, best known for her contributions to WARDRUNA, Lindy-Fay Hella has forged a new, deeply personal path that she invites you to follow her down. Whilst undoubtedly there are some slivers of DNA that link her to her Wardruna compatriots, make no mistake, "Seafarer" is crafted entirely in the vision of its creator.

Front and centre on "Seafarer" is Hella’s evocative voice; searing, longing, and tender. At one point along the way the album was constructed entirely from melodies and intonations of the human voice, but curiosity overtook, and layers of intricate percussion, synths and programming interlace to provide the framework which luscious vocals now flow through.

The genesis of "Seafarer" dates back to February 2017, when Hella’s solo experimentation led her to start recording. Gradually, she invited others in to the world she was creating, starting with Herbrand Larsen and her cousin, Ingolf Hella Torgersen, then inching outward from there. Each new addition was given just one instruction – to choose the instrument they wanted and to join in how the felt was appropriate. The result is a tapestry of emotions; layer upon layer of small details creating a rich whole.

The title track’s minimal words are emphasised with repetition, creating something of a sea-shanty as an ode to a lost friend. Lyrically, Hella explores the concept of the Otherworld; of parallel places, and unexplained feelings and emotions related to what might be on the other side of what we know to be true. Her curiosity for the unknown and the unproven led the way both lyrically and musically many times throughout the creation of "Seafarer" ; emotion steering the ship at every opportunity.

Two tracks - "Nåke du finn i skogen" and "Horizon" are based on the exact same melody, but each song veers in a different direction. Both songs feature guest musicians – the former has Kristian Eivind Espedal (Gaahl) on vocals, whilst the latter was created spontaneously with Roy Ole Førlund (organ) and Jan Tore Ness (drums) and has been presented in its rawest state on the album.
Hella has allowed nature to take its course in more ways than one. She has allowed the album to develop naturally, as if a living, breathing beast of its own, and she has allowed the nature that surrounds her to seep into the fibres of the songs; on "Nåke du finn i skogen" Hella describes feeling like the song is overgrown with moss. By embracing organic developments, Hella has created an album that is true to her vision, and a true representation of what surrounds her - personally, spiritually, and artistically.

"Seafarer" - Official Video Clip: https://youtu.be/bgusDgB259E


1. Seafarer
2. Two Suns
3. Skåddo
4. Bottle Of Sorrow
5. Nåke Du Finn I Skogen
6. Mars
7. Three Standing Stones
8. Tilarids
9. Horizon

Photo Credit: Raina Vlaskovska & May Husby

Download 300dpi printable (511 kB)

Download 300dpi printable (904 kB)

Download 300dpi printable (425 kB)

Download 300dpi printable (904 kB)

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]