[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Kalopsia



Horror Pain Gore Death Productions (CD) & Proper Death Records (LP)


"Angelplague" is the third album from New Jersey's death metal derelicts KALOPSIA. Weaving together the blasting intensity of American death metal, Scandinavian melodies and Jersey's home grown breakdowns, "Angelplague" is the band's most ferociously heavy effort to date. The relentless opener "Destined to Return" is a high-velocity foreshadowing of things to come, while "Christened Upon the Slab" and "Not Peace But Pestilence" focus on knuckle-dragging, head nodding groove. "Scorched Earth and Blackened Skies," the longest and most dynamic track on the album showcases frenzied fretwork and brutal groove before unleashing a dual-guitar hook that gets stuck in the listener's head with all the subtlety of a pick axe.

"We wanted to come out swinging" says guitarist Matt Medeiros, "our last album was focused on speed and dexterity. This time we wanted bigger hooks, and bigger breakdowns."

"Angelplague" continues KALOPSIA's horrific mutation, blending blasting brutality, pit-inducing ignorance, melodic guitar interplay and an old-school vibe to create a pestilential soundtrack to scorch the earth and blacken the skies.


1. Destined to Return
2. As the Serpent Devours
3. Christened Upon the Slab
4. Not Peace But Pestilence
5. Scorched Earth and Blackened Skies
6. Source of My Evil
7. Surge of Terror
8. Bitter Sacraments


Matt Medeiros - Guitar, Vocals
Justin Spaeth – Drums
Drew Murphy - Bass
Steve Horvath - Lead Guitar


KALOPSIA is a death metal band from New Jersey, USA, founded in 1999 by guitarists Matt Medeiros (RUINOUS, ex-FUNEBRARUM) and Steve Horvath (DETERIOROT). Their debut album was released in 2004. "Amongst the Ruins," released by Godeater Records in 2012, featured a new lineup and a streamlined approach. Decibel Magazine hailed, "Kalopsia's no-frills death metal kills it!" Drummer Justin Spaeth (HAMMER FIGHT, ABACINATE, DYSENTERY) joined thereafter, and the band began playing the Northeast, sharing the stage with SUFFOCATION, INTERNAL BLEEDING, FUNERUS, COGNITIVE, DEHUMANIZED and ABNORMALITY, as well as playing New York Deathfest and New Jersey Deathfest. The EP "Sanguine Epitaph" followed in 2014, and bassist Drew Murphy (HAMMER FIGHT, ex-CALL THE PARAMEDICS) joined, completing the current line-up.

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]