[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Lord Vicar

Gates Of Flesh


The Church Within Records
Distribution: Alive


As the final nails were hammered to the coffin of Reverend Bizarre (1995-2007, R.I.P.), guitar player Peter Vicar -- nowadays going with his real name Kimi Kärki -- started to follow his vision of a new Doom Metal band. He felt forced to fulfil his need to compose and play this most arcane form of metal in the way it was meant to be, full of intensity, cruelty, heaviness, and force. Still firmly walking in the footsteps of Saint Vitus, Trouble, Witchfinder General, Pentagram and The Obsessed, LORD VICAR brings together an international lineup featuring Chritus Linderson (ex Saint Vitus, Count Raven, Terra Firma), Sami Hynninen (a.k.a. Albert Witchfinder ex Reverend Bizarre) and Gareth Millsted (ex Centurions Ghost).

"Gates Of Flesh" is the third album from LORD VICAR. It was recorded by audio wizard Joona Lukala at Noise for Fiction studio in Turku, Finland, in the Autumn of 2015. The studio had the benefit of a huge live room which gave the band the opportunity to capture a sound that breathes with the ambience of the space, but maintains the sonic weight for which they are rightly known.

The tracking of the album was undertaken by the core of the band – Kimi, Gareth and the legendary Lord Chritus, with bass duties being split between Kimi and Gareth. Sami is not featured on the album but has been taking care of bass for live shows.

Deliberately shorter than previous albums, the band sought to concentrate their trademark heaviness into shorter, punchier songs and fit the album onto a single vinyl LP. The result is an album that the band consider their most focused and intense release to date.

Whilst this is definitely not a concept album, there is a loose lyrical theme relating to the pleasures and weaknesses of the flesh. Musically and lyrically the album covers a wide spectrum of textures from the fragile beauty of ‘A Woman Out Of Snow’ to the oppressive menace of ‘Leper, Leper’, with subtle details that reveal themselves to the listener with each subsequent listen.

LORD VICAR will be on tour through Europe this June together with ALUCARDA! Dates will be announced soon - watch out!


1. Birth of Wine
2. The Green Man
3. A Shadow of Myself
4. Breaking the Circle
5. Accidents
6. A Woman out of Snow
7. Leper, Leper

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]