drucken    mit Bildern    zurück
City Of The Sun


Karisma Records
19.09.2014 (GER)


Since the formation of Seven Impale, this young progressive rock band has built up their name playing show in their hometown, and forming their own unique sound. The debut digital ep "Beginning/Relieve" was released in 2013 to critical acclaim, and during the last year the band has played as diverse festivals as Oslo Jazz Festival and Inferno Festival, appealing to a very wide audience.Formed in Bergen, Norway in 2010, Seven Impale’s relatively young lineup consists of Stian Økland on vocals and guitars, Fredrik Mekki Widerøe on drums, Benjamin Mekki Widerøe on sax, Tormod Fosso on bass, Erlend Vottvik Olsen on guitar and Håkon Vinje on keyboards.

Now, Seven Impale's debut album, called "City Of The Sun", is finally ready. The album, recorded and produced by Iver Sandøy (Enslaved, Krakow etc.) in Solslottet and Duper Studio, consists of five highly varied and musically complex tracks. Although the music has a firm basis in Classic Progressive Rock, it is highly diversified. The band is never afraid to enter explore much harder soundscapes than usually is expected in progressive rock - the band rely on elements normally found in the metal genre. With the inclusion of saxophone, the band also has a lot of jazz elements in their music. Seven Impale challenges the standard genre boundaries, like Norwegian Shining and Jaga Jazzist has done before.

"City Of The Sun" is a debut that will have a huge impact on any fan of progressive rock!


1. Oh, My Gravity!
2. Windshears
3. Eschaton Horo
4. Extraction
5. God Left Us for a Black-Dressed Woman


Stian Økland: Vocals, guitar
Fredrik Mekki Widerøe: Drums
Benjamin Mekki Widerøe: Saxophone
Tormod Fosso: Bass
Erlend Vottvik Olsen: Guitar
Håkon Vinje: Keyboards